This will make many Instagrammers very happy – the platform is today adding a new ‘Recently Deleted’ folder which will enable users to restore any feed posts that they’ve deleted for 30 days after the fact.
Instagram’s latest feature could help protect your post history from hackers. The app is adding a new “recently deleted” feature, which adds an extra step before a post can be permanently removed from your account. The feature is similar to the “recently deleted” folder in the Photos app on iOS: Delete a post and it will appear in a separate section of your profile for 30 days. These posts aren’t viewable to anyone else, but they’ll remain visible to the account owner in case you have second thoughts and want to restore them.
As explained by Instagram:
“Now, for the first time, you can review and restore deleted content in the Instagram app. […] Photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos and stories you choose to delete are removed from your account immediately and moved to the Recently Deleted folder.”
According to Instagram, it’s also an additional safeguard against hackers who frequently target Instagram accounts. People whose accounts are hacked often have all of their posts removed before they can regain access, which can be a devastating loss for those who rely on their Instagram presence for their business or to keep track of family photos.
With the addition of “recently deleted,” Instagram says that it will require users to verify their identity via text or email before they’re able to restore a post or remove it permanently. The extra step is essentially a form of two-step verification for purging posts from the app (but, importantly, not a substitute for using two-factor authentication to protect your account in the first place).
How it works
To access your Recently Deleted folder, you need to first update your Instagram app to the latest version. You will then be able to access the folder by going to:
Settings > Account > Recently Deleted
From there, you can permanently delete and/or restore any posts as you see fit.
It could be a handy addition, providing an extra safeguard for your posts.
Of course, if you’re locked out of your account because of a hack, you won’t immediately be able to access your deleted posts. And getting back into a compromised Instagram account can itself be a daunting task. But it will at least make it more difficult for a hacker to wipe out all of your posts while you wind your way through Instagram support.